Posted by: digicollage | November 21, 2007

Take Your Spouse To Work Day

I think we need to start a petition for a universal “Take Your Spouse to Work Day”.

How many times have you heard your spouse complain about work and said “Oh honey, I know how you feel”? Do we really?? Do we really have any idea of what they go through on a daily, weekly, or monthly basis?

I know my husband works his butt off at his job. He puts in countless hours of overtime and goes above and beyond what his boss asks of him. I’m thankful that he shares most of his daily grind with me, and I’ve watched him do his job at a previous location, but I really can’t comprehend what he goes through in a day. I try to be as supportive as I can be, but I know it may often sound lack-luster, or possibly (and sadly) trite.

I know this TYSTWD idea may not sweep the nations, but I know that my personal goal is to listen more openly about my spouse’s job, and what he goes through in the day. I don’t want to be so quick to judge the actions of those I don’t know, or lessen his hard work by not fully acknowledging it. Our jobs make up such a large part of our lives, it’s only fair to those we love to care and support their jobs and careers. Also, I want to share more than just my work frustration with my husband. If I want to keep my focus on the positive in my job, I need to be communicating that to him, and not just venting.

That’s my goal, what’s yours? ~TM~

Leave a Reply

Categories

