Posted by: digicollage | April 22, 2008

“Name My Tumor” Contest!!

Well, as some of you know, I’ve been diagnosed with a (small) brain tumor. I go in to talk to the neurosurgeon on Friday, but in the mind-numbing waiting days, I’m trying to stay positive! SO, I’ve decided to NAME the tumor! Makes it seem less daunting when I can “blame” another “thing” rather than giving over control to a tumor. SO… here’s the thing:

Post your tumor names HERE and the person who comes up with the best name will receive my new “Daddy, Daughter Day” AND “Mother, Son Day” kits FREE!!!!!!!!!!!! Give me as many names as you can think of now through FRIDAY, APRIL 25 and I’ll decide the winner on Saturday!

SO… NAME… THAT… TUMOR!! πŸ˜‰

Responses

  1. Name suggestion: Pipsqueak

  2. Little Bit

  3. Tammy, I’m so sorry you’re going through this. I hope it’s something they can resolve quickly for you and without too much interruption to your life. You have a wonderful attitude, so that’s gotta help!

    I’d name it Murphy, because if there’s any time when Murphy’s Law applies, it’s learning that your symptoms were caused by a brain tumor. Once you get it out of there, everything that can go right, will go right!

  4. How about: B.I.T.C.H (Brain involved tumor can hurt)

  5. oh my! I hope it wont get worst… keep up your faith πŸ™‚

    name: TATU, short for Tammy’s Tumor

  6. Saying prayers for you, Tammy! Sorry to hear this.

    I want to give it a very weak name – because you are stronger than it! It won’t beat you! How about Percy? Or Wimpy?

  7. Hey Tammy,

    Since we are being positive… I’m going to let you know that I will be thinking and praying for you on your tumor. And since we are havng a little fun at your expense… I’m going to name your tumor NumbsMe…. Since it numbs part of your body. My second thought for a name would be Numbbee (still on the same numbing tip)

    I hope you can stay positive through it all. Be strong!

  8. Oh sweetie… just wanted to tell you I am praying for you and hope that there is good news for Friday.

  9. I am so sorry to hear about your diagnosis, but keep your chin up! Medical science is so amazing, and you have lots of people keeping you in their prayers.

  10. Hey Tammy, can’t come up with a name LOL, but I love the spin you’re taking on this, you go girl! You’ve already got some great suggestions going on! I’ll be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers, and will anxiously be awaiting the news from the neurosurgeon.

  11. Sending you lots of prayers Tammy, I’m sure you’re so scared as I know I would be. How about calling it Ed or Lumpy or maybe Ralph or Bob (not sure why I came up with guy names but what the heck) Keep us posted and good luck Friday.

  12. How about “Spot”. You will be in my thoughts and prayers.

  13. Hi Tammy,
    I will keep you in my prayers, in the mean time why not name your tumor Muse Poop. Like a little “leftover” from your Muse! πŸ™‚

  14. You are in my prayers. Stay strong!

    I name it Poof! Hopefully, the surgeon can do some magic and make it disappear.

  15. I don’t think I can top the suggestions you’ve already gotten, lol. Just wanted to offer you my support and to let you know that I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  16. Wow, I am so sorry to hear that you are going through this. Happy though that you have decided to keep a positive attitude. Best wishes being sent your way.

  17. Right now I’m feeling Jehosofat and soon you’ll be ‘Jumping Jehosofat”

    That’s what I’m feeling right now, might be more ideas later.

    Squishy hug!

  18. OHOHOH
    Rumpelstilstkin!!!

  19. I’m SO sorry to hear that this is what was causing your numbness. I will be praying for good news for the process of removal.

    I would name him Begon (sounding like Be GONE)!

  20. OMG I’m so sorry to hear … try and stay positive – you’re doing great! … a name… ‘dot’

  21. Sorry to hear about your need for brain surgery, glad you are staying positive. I’ve had brain surgery twice, hope yours goes as well as mine did! (I had several aneurysms clipped).

  22. I forgot the name suggestions… Sam, Smudge, Spot

  23. Big hugs! I love how you’re dealing with this, so positive! Let’s see what to name a brain tumor… Tilon the Tiny Tumor. (Tilon is Hebrew for small rock or mound)

  24. How about Astro? Like another poster, Sherry, I had two brain surgeries too (one tumor and one regrowth). My brain tumor was an astrocytoma so I called it Astro, like the dog from Jetsons–if you’re old enough to know of that tv show!

    Very sorry to hear of your diagnosis and you’ll be in my prayers.

  25. I think you should name it Spot-that way you can quote Edgar Allen Poe-

    “Out, out, you damned spot”

    Prayers are with you. My 16 y/o nephew had a brain tumor removed last summer. He is doing very well and has kept his sense of humor intact also.

  26. Wishing you all the best during this time.
    All the names I thought of have been mentioned. I’m sure you’ve got it covered.

  27. I was thinking of “Detour” or “Road Block”, I have been battling a tumor on my heart for the past 2-3 months and with the marvellous surgeons and doctors and alot of faith and prayer, I have found that it is not the end of the road, but pureful a roadblock.
    My prayers are with you, stay positive and have faith and you’ll see this tumor does not control you.

  28. Sorry to hear of your upcoming challenges. My husband came up with the name “braingleberry”. Keep your positive attitude and you will do well.

    • I don’t know if you’ll get this or how the original poster faired but reading the name your husband chose had me in tears! I’m naming my finger cyst and bc of your help, I started cracking up again with “Knuckleberry”! Hope you and yours are well!

  29. Thats a great way to stay positive!!!!! I say we call him Hubert, I dont know why.

  30. This so sounds like something I would do!!!! I’m down for turning not so fun things into something I can laugh at later!

    I can get pretty creative with names. Louis seems to be my fave name right now…

    How about – Bane, like Bane of my Existence
    Or… Barracuda
    Or… Woe
    Or… “The Affliction”
    Or… I think that’s all I got at the moment!

  31. Love your positive attitude! Reminds me of my mommy. My thoughts are with you.

    Ideas: Snuff out, the outsider, brain pimple.

  32. Tammy how amazing and courageous you are. I think humour is a a very very powerful weapon. Know that the prayers of many are with you.
    Your scan reminds me of those first scans in pregnancy a tiny blip,
    so my suggestions are:
    Blip
    Bean
    Jelly Bean; and
    Baked Bean (in case you sit in the sun too long)

    May God hold you in the palm of his hand Tammy, you will be in my prayers.
    Best wishes
    Erika

  33. How about Pinky? As in Pinky and the Brain? I am so sorry to hear about this. Sending you hugs. I have BTDT on a different level with a leg tumor around Christmas 2006. You will be okay I know it. Stay strong! You will be in my prayers. -Tina πŸ™‚

  34. The Bloop, The Alien, Humpty Dumpty, The Gremlin

  35. PS. Hang in there! Staying positive is such a big part of fighting cancer!!!

  36. Hi Tammy. I’m so sorry to hear that. But also so impressed to see how strong you are!!
    As I’m French, it’s a bit difficult to find a funny name in English, but what do you think of “Polka dot”?
    I’m thinking of you. Take care

  37. Very sorry to hear this, Tammy. We are crossing our fingers that they get it all out, all goes well, it is not cancerous and you can continue to live without fear of a return.
    We were wondering if your doctors have told you what type of tumor it is. It may help in giving the intruder a name.
    Our nephew is running around in circles calling out, Tammy’s Tumor, over and over again. So we’ll toss that name into the hat for now. Keep us posted. We’ll keep you in our prayers.
    Big Hugs
    DaisyQ

  38. You must be feeling its all so surreal – I can’t fathom what its like. Just know I’m praying for you.

    My name suggestion would be:

    ************

    Deus ex machina

    because, as wikipedia defines the term saying:
    The phrase has been extended to refer to any resolution to a story that does not pay due regard to the story’s internal logic and is so unlikely that it challenges suspension of disbelief, allowing the author to conclude the story with an unlikely, though more palatable, ending.

    In modern terms the deus ex machina has also come to describe a being, object or event that suddenly appears and solves a seemingly insoluble difficulty, where the author has “painted the characters into a corner” that they can’t easily be extricated from (e.g. the cavalry unexpectedly coming to the rescue, or James Bond using a gadget that just so happens to be perfectly suited to the needs of the situation).

    ************

    So, this would be my name, because even though you HAVE the tumor, (according to the docs) and it seems that there might not be any easy or clear answer, that you would have a Duex Ex Machina appear to take it away! (though being a Faithful Christian I’m KNOWING only God has that control.

  39. Tammy I’d call your tumour ‘benign’ so that it won’t do you any harm.

    • I have a benign brain tumour (diagnosed Feb 2014) and they can kill you. They grow and get onto the brain stem and that’s it- strokes, blindness etc. Mine is making me deaf and the surgery I have to have will cause me to suffer balance issues etc. I will lose all hearing on that side when it’s surgically removed, or radiated. I’ll have to relearn walking and talking and will not be able to move half of my face afterwards. Benign does NOT mean harmless- it just doesn’t spread to other parts of the body. it still grows and it’s still very dangerous.

  40. Ethel

    Everything that frustates me gets called “Ethel”, don’t really know why.

    Trust the Great Physician, He IS able!

  41. Tumorella
    Tumorzilla
    Cerebral Misfit

    I’ll pray for you! What a shock!

  42. How about Barney? He invades our homes like a tumor… πŸ˜‰
    Way to stay positive, btw!! I will be keeping you in my prayers, Sweetie!

  43. Looks about as small as a scrapping brad to me…I’d call it Brad!

  44. Gosh, I know where you’re at with the waiting. That is the hardest part. I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I had to wait a week for the biopsy. Then I had to wait a week for the results. The masectomy was the easiest part of the whole ordeal!!

    I say you name it “Spot” Nothing real significant, but noteworthy.

    Or since it’s a bright spot on the picture… How about “Lightning McDreamy” {A cross between Lightning McQueen (Cars) and McDreamy (Grey’s Anatomy)?!?!?!

    It’s really good you’re able to keep a sense of humor. That will save your sanity!

  45. Sorry for your news, but glad to see you won’t let it beat you!
    I think you have got to name the tumor a “guy” name. Aren’t they always causing trouble! LOL Then you have some “one” to blame for things! What’s the worst guy name?
    Dennis the menace! maybe
    Homer (Simpson) causes lots of problems
    Or how about Leech (sp?)
    How about Devil? Then if you did something wrong you could say ” The devil made me do it!” HEHE

  46. I’m so sorry to hear about your news. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers.

    how about McDreamy!!! – I love Grey’s Anatomy and of course Dr McDreamy – lol!!! seems appropriate being a medical condition – wouldn’t mind Dr McDreamy being at my beside and of course once your operation is over and done with it will seem like it was all a big Mc’Dream’ to you.

    take care and big hugs!!!!

  47. snap!!!!! # 44. Marsha (2 spots above my comment) I’ve just now read through everyone’s comments (serves me right I should have read before I posted a comment – doh!!!) and we both had the same idea about McDreamy – lol!!! glad to see another fan here!!!

  48. How about Pooey? I use that when I really would like to say something else!

    I’ll be praying for you.

  49. First of all, big hugs to you for being so strong and having such a wonderful attitude.

    My suggestion: Flea–small, annoying, and will be eradicated!

    Best wishes to you!

  50. Hi Tammy………..i want to wish you all the goods in the world to overcome this nasty thing!!!!

  51. I call mine anaplastic oligodendroglioma…well thats the birth name πŸ™‚ Really we just call this 4 inch tumour a holliday. Cant work cant drink cant drive…2 out of three aint bad. Cheers!

  52. I just e-mailed a friend for suggestions for my tumor’s name . . . she found this site and sent it to me . . . I think you chose a name . . . now give it another address

  53. Brain surgery may be carried out due to various varying reasons. The most notable reason why brain surgery procedure is carried out is due to the growth of tumors in the brain. Brain tumor leads to complications such as memory loss and in most cases death. Though brain tumor is operable there are some tumors that are literally inoperable due to their extensive growth. Other than brain surgery, removal of tumors from the brain can be done through chemotherapy. This is however recommended for cancer patients. Other reasons that can facilitate brain surgery include brain hemorrhage and severe head injuries. ..

    Please do inspect this useful web site
    <http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/chamomile-tea-benefits/

  54. Well a couple of those reply are not really what I expected to hear. Yesterday I was diagnosed with 2 brain Tumours. I am positive, not a bit worried, well I am at the thought of having to take my false teeth out, but other than that, there’s nothing to get upset about, that’s not going to change the situation. Anyway, I have named mine BE 1 and Nine 2, (benign). I’ve had a ct scan now waiting for a MRI. Hate the waiting. BTW, my doctor says they are benign Tumors.

  55. i would name it after an ex that was an asshole then whip its ass,that would motivate you to fight harder.


Leave a Reply

Categories

